Back in time for the weekend, episode 3

This episode is about the 1970s, the era I was born in and thus within my living memory.
The thing I remember most about that decade is how incredibly ugly everything was, I’m sure I’m not the only 1970s kid who was traumatised by orange, brown and purple flower pattern fabrics.

The show starts at 1:30, so if you’re like me and you HATE how everything these days starts with a montage of what happened last week and spoilers of what is going to happen this episode, skip to that moment.
You’re welcome.

1970
Yep, the house has been “updated” and looks truly horrific.
Oh goodness , a round orange plastic tv, we had one of those.
And here is the family… that fashion… have mercy… my eyes hurt!
Luckily there is not enough time in-between recordings for dad and son to have grown long hair.
The parents are now also experiencing an era they remember from their own childhood.
The daughter seems excited, especially because of the Bees Geese…  yes she said Geese.
But she properly analyses the living room as being hideous.

More free time, more drinking.
See, this is where we went wrong!
You need to keep people busy and working.
Seeing 1970s footage of pubs is both frightening and wonderful as we see the ugliest hairstyles and clothes in history but also people having a good old smoke.
Although I’m not a smoker myself, for me a pub just isn’t complete without people smoking.
Home brewing was not something we did at home, maybe it was an UK thing.

Even the vacuum cleaner is ugly.

Seeing modern children having to deal with an old fashioned dial phone is always fun, I myself have a 1930 Bakelite model and it never seizes to amaze me that kids just don’t understand how they work.

1971
Everything is still ugly.
Time to visit the bank, talk about a mortgage.
I like that you need to go talk to someone about it, dress up, behave, make a good impression in stead of just applying for one online.
I wonder if having to meet serious scary stuffy bank managers and ask, even beg for a loan might have prevented the recent crisis.
Very nice but also a little sad to see how much freedom children had to just be kids, play outside, get in trouble, play with matches or even get hurt.
Today, thanks to amongst other things mobile phones, that freedom is much rarer.
And health & safety laws and rules have also taken away some of that fun, even though of course, it is for our own good…
Mind you, it also depends on where you live of course.
I grew up in a rather bad neighbourhood, I couldn’t play outside much, even in the 1970s.
Either way, giving kids the chance to experience that freedom, scrape their knee, bruise their elbows, do something dangerous and learn from these experiences is, I think, a good thing.
Especially because if you hurt yourself and your parents are not there to run to, but you only have other kids there who just ignore you or tell you to stop being such a baby, helps build character.
Once more the young boy is quite good at noticing these things, he feels that he is missing something because he normally just plays on his computer.
Good kid.
Very sad to hear that today one third of children of the ages 8-10, have never played outside without adult supervision.
Oh god, a corduroy jacket.
The home improvement footage is, as always, quite frightening.
Cork tiles on the wall… my fingers still remember how they felt.

1972
The year I was born, about 80 years to late.
And credit cards, must say that those never played a role in my life, not in the 1970s, not today.
We’re told that there was an explosion of buying on credit.
Although this was not a new thing, it sort of started before WW2, so I guess we’re talking about another ‘explosion’ of buying on credit.
Many people often assume something is a relatively new thing while it rarely is.
Owning a radio, gas cooker even pots & pans was something many people could only afford by paying in parts.
Either way, I think it is safe to say that buying on credit and making it so much easier to pay for things you couldn’t really afford also had its drawbacks.
A colour tv!
We didn’t have one of those till the 1980s, even then it broke within minutes and switched to black and white permanently.
Cloth kits are amazing, I’d like some of those, but of course not with 1970s fabric or patterns…
Nice to see an old episode of Blue Peter, I’m one of the few Dutch children who somehow managed to grow up with that show, as soon as we could receive the BBC that is, if the weather allowed it.
The newspapers between the blankets is actually quite an old trick, it works really well.
Waiting for the electricity to cut out… and there it is, on cue.

1973
Nice to see an old episode of Top  Gear, back when it still had decent presenters.
But also, ugly cars.
Parents leaving their kids in the car while they go to the pub… brilliant.
Have to admit, the 1970s had some great tunes.

1974
Petrol crisis, I wish I remembered that.
And I wish my parents had taken me to go play on the motorway, even if just to take come groovy photos.
Cycling without a helmet… as it should be.
So nice to hear the brother and sister enjoying spending time together.
Darts, boring.
Also nice to hear how much the kids are enjoying the 1970s, without their mobile phones and computers.

1975
Wonderful, a holiday in your own country.
Not like today when so many people travel across the world and don’t even realise how decadent it really is.
People don’t even see it as a luxury any more.
Most of our holidays involved camping, I loved it.
Although we managed to spend most of them in France.
I remember my parents having fierce arguments while trying to build the tent even though we didn’t have the fancy big ones, we had simple small tents and it was wonderful.
Especially when it rained.

1976
Don’t remember a water shortage, or, thankfully, the heat.
That garden chair though…
Ah ice creams… there was one ice cream I remember from my childhood that had a chewing gum ball hidden at the bottom of the plastic cone filled with ice.
Somehow that very cold, ice cream covered chewing gum was the best ever.

1977
Finally, the mum has been given a job, giving her a chance to escape the home.
Something of course also happened to many women during WW1 and WW2, but alas, we’re not seeing those in this series.
And here are the computer games!
Goodness I remember those, I fell in love with them right away and must admit I still like playing them today.
They looked amazing those first consoles, ours had wood pattern stickers.
And of course later we had the Commodore 64, loading games from a cassette tape!
I hope we get to see that in the next episode.
Ah the music system, I was never much obsessed with music or our system at home but I enjoyed playing with cassette tapes early on.
Bit silly to hear the presenter say that the lounge in the 1950s was a place of quiet contemplation and the occasional piano recital.
I know it is nice to remember the 1950s as a grey boring era, to make our modern life seem nicer, but people had fun back then too.
Radios, gramophones, boardgames, etc.

1978
Rollerdisco, far out man.
Sad to be remembered of the racial tension back then and even sadder to realise that we still have such a long way to go.

1979
Party time!
I loved parties in the 1970s, mostly because as a kid I loved waking up early the next day and explore the stuff left behind, having a breakfast of soggy crisps and dead soda drinks.
Once me and my cousins secretly stole some of the half full glasses and got rather tipsy.

It is very nice to hear how the family spend more time together.
But I think it is a missed chance to show that, compared to today, this was also more common in the previous decades.
It also really depends on the family situation I guess, because I don’t remember the 1970s as being typically a time of us spending a lot of time together.
My parents both worked, I spend a lot of time in daycare or school but yes in the evening we watched tv together.
But is that really that different from listening to the radio together or playing board games?
It is starting to feel a bit like the previous eras are getting a bum deal, underestimating or neglecting the actual fun and freedom people experienced in the earlier decades.

Nice but also again a bit sad to hear the family say how much they loved the 1970s and that they want to stay there mostly because of how much they did together.
It does say something about the present day, how our families have grown apart and they, and perhaps even society, have become a collection of individuals who just share some time together in stead of the tight unit it once was.
It is frightening how many of the families who take part in these shows feel the same.
It seems we’ve truly lost something along the way to progress.

p03j0ky5

Leave a Reply

