The Great Human Race, episode 4

4th episode the great human race

As usual, first a minute of annoying spoilers to skip.
This episode we’re looking at one of my worst nightmares; surviving in a hot, sunny climate.
I’m not a summer person, I barely survive summer here in the city.

I’m still not impressed with their outfits, a bit too much 1970s stone age music video.
Anyway, it looks better than the cargo shorts from the first episode.

We’ve now finally arrived at the Homo Sapiens era, 75.000 years ago.
I know that I would probably not survive most of the episodes we’ve seen so far, but the heat is my worst enemy.

I’m not a squeamish kind of person, I’ve handled dead animals myself, but ripping open the poor little lizard guy was a tat icky.
I appreciate the show for showing it though, some shows would avoid such things.
I have no problems with handling or eating insects and unlike lizards, scorpions can be mean little cheeky monkeys.
Doesn’t seem like a big meal though.

It is hard to imagine the absolute fear and tension we would have felt if this was real.
There you are, in the desert, with your family, no water, no food and it gets dark.
Our presenters, as tough as they are, are surrounded by a tv crew, who have a satellite phone if things go wrong, who possibly sleep in cars or trailers nearby.
A local hunter is probably on call with a rifle, just in case of scary animals.
A medic will not be too far away either.
Our ancestors would have had none of that.
And millions, billions of them who lived through situations like these died a horrible death.

The tools are obviously too big, time to change things.
Nice to see or sort of imagine how our ancestors were forced to adapt and thus start new phase of our progress.

Temperature is 95° Fahrenheit, that is 35° Celsius… in the morning.
Not as hot as I thought it would be, but still a temperature I would not be able to function in.

Loving the charcoal trick they are using, not only does it make them look cool and a little frightening, but it actually seems to work.
Although Bill should have asked Kat for some make-up advice.

Saying “if a camel can’t survive out here, we’re in trouble’, is a bit peculiar though.
After all, who knows what the camel died of?

Finding the historical artefacts is amazing.
I’m so jealous.
Always fascinating to see Bill making stone tools.
Experimental archaeology or living history just isn’t done right if you’re not bleeding.

109° Fahrenheit, that is 42° Celsius… I’d be dead by now.

When an animal is killed that is somehow cute and adorable, I can’t help being a softy and feeling a little sorry for the furry critter.
Poor Mickey.
Burned and grinder up mouse somehow doesn’t seem very tasty but it is probably the best way to get every bit of nutrition from it.

The monsoon looks stunning.
Must have been scary to see these clouds and descending into it, especially back when our ancestors had no idea what this fog was and what would be at the bottom.

These caves look like a villa compared to where they’ve slept in previous episodes.
But now the water is gone…

And then there is a river and vegetation.
This valley seems like paradise.
If I was them, I’d settle there for a few centuries.

I wonder when our ancestors learned that they had to cook or filter water.
At least since the Palaeolithic age it seems (link).

Caves, animals, water, trees… this is a perfect spot.
I hope that centuries ago some our prehistoric ancestors found that spot as well and were given a new lease of life.

Coming from the desert I wonder why our ancestors would have decided to keep moving on.
The cave by the river seems like paradise.
Seeing the see was worth it though, what a view.
Imagine what our ancestors must have thought when they reached that spot, perhaps that they had found the end of the world?

The era of mankind is just about to begin.
The journey continues.

625414211788_Great_Race_104_HD_Clean_AUTH_movie.jpg

Leave a Reply

